Toddler Translator

Everett has been babbling nonsense all day, every day, for as long as he’s been able to make noises besides crying. I was fully conversational by the time I was 18 months old, so I’ve been waiting for a long time for Everett to really start talking beyond the nonsense babble. Of course, he’s only 2, and every kid is different, but I’ve been feeling like it’s been taking forever for him to start talking. A month or two ago was when we first noticed that what were seemingly just “sounds” to us, were actually words to him. Well, they had meaning anyway. I don’t know if he just has a really strange accent or what, but these are some of our current favorite Everettisms…

PWISS: please. I told you…weird accent.

PWUH: prayer. Context really helped us figure this one out. We’ve been teaching him for months to fold his arms when we say prayer, and he’s gotten really good at that. He knows the times of day we say prayer together as a family and has started beating us to it by running to the table, folding his arms, and saying “pwuh!”

DIS: this. Most often accompanied by frantic pointing and a panicked look when he wants anything.

wuh-SIS: what’s this? This one is newer, but it sounds pretty close to what we think it means.

WIS-is: where is it? Most often used in reference to his sister’s pacifier. “I don’t know, Everett…where is it?” (Not to be confused with wuh-SIS.)

WHY-gee: ready. This one took us forever to figure out. For a long time we thought it was just his weird way of saying “one,” because he would always say it before saying “tee-oo!” when standing on something ready to jump. As in, “WHY-gee, tee-OO, JOP!” (which we mistook for “one, two, jump.”) Really he was combining “Ready, set, go” and “one, two, jump” to make his own “ready, two, jump.” It’s all very complicated.

POM: pop. The grandkids on my side of the family are going to call my dad Pop. It’s kind of a tradition, my dad’s dad is my Pop, his dad was my dad’s Pop, etc. Everett definitely knows who Pop is, but he hasn’t quite gotten the 2nd “P” yet. So for now, he’s Pom.

All I’m saying is, if Toddler had been offered as a foreign language in high school, I probably would’ve taken that over Spanish.IMG_3109

 

Leave a Reply

